One year later, part 2

As I mentioned in my last post, I was made redundant towards the end of September in 2010. I was hopeful about 2011 and my prospects of returning to work within the second quarter. But the reality of the economic situation continued to be harsh. As autumn approached, I was starting to get depressed.

And then one day I received an email requesting an interview. There was something prospective about this email because the architect contacted me a day after I sent in my resume. The other interviews that I went on were arranged weeks and months after I responded to the job listings. I had a good feeling about this one.

The interview went well and in fact, the architect was familiar with a couple of former employers, and a project I had worked on. He explained to me the type of projects that the office does, which clarified some of the projects I noticed on the website. At the end of the interview, the architect advised me to take a day to think it over and to send him an email of my interest and then a second interview would be set up.

I didn’t really need to think it over. It was employment; an opportunity to return to an architectural office environment. A second interview was set up the same week. An offer was made. I accepted, and I started on Monday.

I’m glad to be back at work, and thankful to have this opportunity as there are many others who are still unemployed. I was plucked out from hundreds who have applied for the same position, and the architect hired me.

I feel whole again and to be a contributing member of society. The next step, becoming a license architect.

2 thoughts on “One year later, part 2

  1. i too am in a similar situation. would you be interested in offering some assistance by sending me your resume as an example?

    thanks

Leave a Reply

